Puppy gets a taste of freedom . . .

Today at 8:30 I started whining to get Anne to take me for a walk.  She has listened the past couple of mornings and today is no different.  I get my leash on, and as soon as she opens the door, I pull away and run to the front bush.  Then I take off down the sidewalk at full speed which is around 7 miles per hour.  I hear her calling, “Wait, Puppy!” so I do.  She grabs my leash and we both take off running.  We turn the corner and keep going, but I’m slowing down now.  I stop to sniff some gravel next to a light post.  We continue on.  In the distance, I see him, a pug.  He lives at the end of the block and whenever I come near, he starts racing up and down the chain link fence around his back yard.  He’s a real showoff.  Thinks he can run so fast.  I always bark and pull toward him, but Anne always says, “Come on Puppy, good boy.”  Today I had a big surprise.  She let go of my leash!  I ran over there and tried to get him to stop and sniff so we could get acquainted, but he wouldn’t.  He just kept racing back and forth. I raced back and forth for a minute, but got bored.  How are we supposed to be friends if he won’t stop and sniff?  We went on home, but I got to run free today.  It was fantastic!

4 thoughts on “Puppy gets a taste of freedom . . .

  1. Ooohh, I want to like, but I’m cringing! I’m sorry! I worked at an emergency clinic and we had five dogs hit by cars in one week when their owners let them off the leash. Please don’t! But I love how you write in his viewpoint, and that gets a like 🙂

  2. Good day! This is my first comment here sso I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading your posts.
    Can youu recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics?
    Appreciate it!

Leave a comment